Allison Janney is One Win Away From Making SAG Awards History

Spread the love


Allison Janney may soon be named among the very few stars get to make SAG awards history, but from all indications, she just may.  She is a familiar face in the movie industry. The actress has been at it since 1984. Within this time Allison has received several accolades. These include seven Primetime Emmy Awards, one Academy Awards, one Golden Globe award, and one BAFTA award. Allison has sure been busy, and she’s about to make history for her role in Bombshell following the cast win.

Bombshell is the biographical drama based on the scandal involving Roger Ailes. It tells the story of the experiences of several women at Fox News and the tough three who finally brought down the man that created this empire and sexually harassed them.

The film Bombshell has always looked promising but hardly anyone would have expected four Screen Actors Guild Award nominations, including for ensemble. Bombshell is packed with stars we all know and love because of course, it would take such a cast to pull this off. If the cast is able to win for these nominations, Allison Janney would make SAG Awards history by being the first person to win three SAG Awards for the ensemble.

In the past, 18 people have come away with 2 victories as far as these awards are concerned but never 3. These 18 two-time winners include Alan Arkin, Ben Affleck, Colin Firth, Michael Keaton, Kelly Macdonald, Ryan Phillippe, and Emma Stone. Allison Janney’s earlier two wins come from her roles as part of the cast in the movies The Help – 2011 and American Beauty – 1999.

Allison Janney also has two other bids for the category which did not end with a win. These were The Hours – 2002 and Hairspray – 2007.  Bombshell currently holds the fourth spot behind other movies that include Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, The Irishman, and Parasite. It is ahead of Jojo Rabbit.

Mandatory Credit: Photo by Chris Pizzello/Invision/AP/REX/Shutterstock (9264462k)
Actress Allison Janney, a cast member in the film “I, Tonya,” poses for a portrait at The Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel in Los Angeles. The film tells the story of the disgraced figure skater, Tonya Harding, from youth to middle age, including the infamous assault on fellow skater Nancy Kerrigan
“I, Tonya” Portrait Session, Los Angeles, USA – 05 Dec 2017

While it looks like a tight competition, there are reasons why Bombshell seems like a really strong contender for the win. This is starting with the fact that Bombshell is a very SAG friendly film centered on a touchy and timely subject with a large ensemble.

Aside from becoming the first to bag 3 SAG Awards, Allison will move up the chart for ‘most wins’ with this. Her seven accolades at the moment that put her in this position include two in film ensemble, two in TV drama ensemble for The West Wing – 2001-02, one in film supporting actress for I, Tonya – 2017, and two in TV drama actress for The West Wing – 2001-02.

With eight wins, Allison Janney would be in a tie with stars Alec Baldwin and Julianna Margulies. She will also be one behind Julia Louis-Dreyfus the current record holder.

Other stars in the drama film Bombshell are Charlize TheronNicole Kidman, Margot Robbie,  John LithgowKate McKinnonConnie Britton, and Malcolm McDowell.

Let us know in a comment what you think of Allison Janney in Bomshell.

Read more from I On The Scene: HERE.

The 26th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards, honoring the best achievements in film and television performances for the year 2019, will be presented on January 19, 2020, at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles, California. The ceremony will be broadcast live on both TNT and TBS 8:00 p.m. EST / 5:00 p.m. PST.

About Max Wilde

0 comments to " Allison Janney is One Win Away From Making SAG Awards History "
Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *